Members & Advisors



Ashley Wilson

Ashley Wilson is a burn survivor and a recent graduate of the University of Winnipeg. She has been involved with the Manitoba Firefighter Burn Camp for the past 5 years as a counselor. Additionally, she has served as a board member of the Mamingwey Burn Survivors Society in Manitoba for the past three years, working on their annual Burn Survivor Conference program, as well as fundraising for the society. Lastly, she is a board member of the Canadian Burn Survivor Community.


Darryl Parsons

Darryl Parsons was burned on his birthday May 22, 2010 receiving 11.5% burn coverage to his neck, face, arms and hands. Darryl is currently the Vice President (Halifax) of the Nova Scotia Burn Support Group and is active in visiting patients in the Burn Unit at the QE11 Health Sciences Center (Halifax Infirmary). Darryl possesses a very uplifting attitude towards his injury and his positive attitude is beneficial to helping new survivors. Darryl is an active participant in the Burn Camp(Camp Connect) for burned children and adults put on each year by the Nova Scotia Firefighters Burn Treatment Society.

Judy Sleith

Judy Sleith

Judy had 35 years experience working in burn care as a RN with the Calgary Firefighters Burn Treatment Centre ib=n Calgary, AB. Judy is actively involved with the Calgary Burn Survivors Group as A SOAR coordinator and has been an Executivive/council member of the Canadian Association of Burn Nurses for 25 years.

Directors 020

Martin Johnson

Martin Johnson is a retired Platoon Chief, having served 41 years with the Winnipeg Fire Department. He is a co-founder of the Firefighters Burn Fund of Manitoba (1978), currently serving as Chairman. He is also a member of the Mamingwey Burn Survivor Society, the American Burn Association, and is a retired member in good standing with the United Firefighters of Winnipeg. He is the recipient of several awards such as the Meritorious Service Medal(Fire) with 2 bars, Queen Elizabeth 11 Gold and Diamond Jubilee anniversary medals, the Joe Hickey Award from the Phoenix Society, the John A. Moncrief award from the American Burn Association, the Mary Beth Dolin Award and the Order of Manitoba.


Barbara Anne Hodge

Barbara-Anne is an occupational therapist, and has worked on the Burn Unit in Winnipeg for over 25 years. She is the Chair of the Mamingwey Burn Survivor Society in Manitoba. She is also the Past Chair of the Canadian Burn Survivors Community, and a member of the Board of Directors of the Firefighters Burn Fund inc. She is a member of the Executive Committee of the Boad of Directors of the Canadian Skin Patient Alliance where she represents the burn survivors of Canada.


Mike Cook

Mike Cook sustained burns to 17% of his body from the waist up while trying to light a charcoal barbeque at a Scout Camp in 1998. He spent 17 dyas in the Burn Unit at the Royal Jubilee Hospital in Victoria, BC. He required skin graphs to his right shoulder, bicep and rib cage. In 1999/2000 following attendance at the World Burn Conference hosted by the Phoenix Society he played a lead role in the information of the Peer Support Group as sponsored by the Firefighters Burn Fund of Victoria. They have been trained to provide peer support to survivors and family members to assist in their recovery following a burn injury. Mike continues to serve the Firefighters Burn Fund Peer Support Group in the role of treasurer and Director with the Victoria Conference committee for the upcoming Burn Survivors Conference being held in June 2014.



Dave Collier

Nova Scotia Professional Fire Fighters Burn Treatment Society

I.A.F.F. Members

Lionel Crowthers pic copy

Lionel Crowthers


Robert McLeod


Mike Brackenread